Weary?

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light” (Matthew 12 v28-39)

Writing ‘devotionals’ you’re supposed to be enthusiastic and inspiring,  to give an uplifting message to start people’s day.  But it’s approaching 10 o’clock and it’s been a long day, and sometimes I just feel weary.  I guess we’ve all been there, we’ve committed to do something, and time is running out but we just are weary.  Maybe it’s homework, a letter to a friend, a report for work, a cake for the cake stall – and we plod on wearily trying to finish it as quickly as we can.

What does Jesus tell us to do?  Come to him.  Take his yoke and learn from him.  But what should we learn?  His yoke is easy and his burden is light.  What does that mean?  If I am struggling then it is not his yoke.  If I rush and get stressed it is not his yoke. If I express irritation at my family for distracting me, that’s not his yoke. If I wait ‘till my family are in bed, sit back, relax, put on some music, take a cup of coffee or a glass of wine and decide to enjoy what I am doing, taking my time, accepting that it may mean a late evening, is that his yoke?  Well, it feels better.  It means I’ve spent time with those I love.  It means I’m able to write out of love rather than guilt.

So tonight, maybe that’s his yoke.  Remembering to love, being patient, persevering, having time for others.  And as I sat down to write this, I hadn’t a clue what to write.  Maybe reading this you feel that I might as well have gone to bed – but even if that is the case, does that matter?  Maybe you’ve had a less inspirational devotional – but isn’t that better than getting stressed and angry, and maybe hurting those that I love?

Lord, how easy it is to forget your teaching, and yet how true it is when we listen.  Thank you for sharing your wisdom with us.  Help us to listen and learn from you, especially when our souls need rest.

………..

I wrote this a few years ago, but post it now for a friend who’s feeling in a rut and tired.

About Minimalist Christian

Phil Hemsley is a graduate of the University of Cambridge, and a Fellow of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers in the UK. He works for a multinational company in the power industry, has presented technical papers at international conferences and holds many patents. He has published two books, the most recent is "The Big Picture, an Honest Examination of God Science and Purpose". He has lived on both sides of the faith fence. He is married, with two daughters.
This entry was posted in Thoughts for the day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a reply and I will try to get back to you.

